Where were you? – Où étiez vous ?

In the past few days, my mind has been a battlefield. Thoughts slamming around, wrenching the bits of sanity left in me. And one question hits the hardest.

Where were you?

Almost 6 six years of war, and never have I ever seen the name of my city, the name of Aleppo, printed, typed, written or said as much, never have I ever received as many messages of support as I have these past days. It almost felt like war had just started and I was the only one, not aware of it.

Almost six years of heartbreak and pain. Yet, suddenly the world feels for my people, my city.

So I wonder if it only gets outrageous for you when you find it on the first page of the latest magazine?

I would love to believe the warmth of your words of support and scandalized reactions but I have a very hard time doing so when I never hear your outrage about the other side of the city.

Tragedies are occurring everywhere. So do you decide to take a side and counter the other because you don’t agree with those under which it’s in control?

Or do you stand for one city in its entirety regardless of political stances?

The reason why I’m so disgusted is because every once in a while, Syria becomes trendy again but the suffering of my people isn’t your 4pm cup of tea.

Dima K. 
———————————-

Ces derniers jours, mon esprit est un vrai champ de bataille. Les pensées se chevauchent, arrachant le peu de tranquillité qu’il me reste. Et, une question me frappe : Où étiez vous ?

Presque six ans de guerre, et je n’ai jamais autant vu le nom de ma ville, le nom d’Alep, imprimé, écrit, placardé, jamais reçu autant de messages de soutien que ces derniers jours. On dirait presque que la guerre vient tout juste de commencer et que je me retrouve seule, inconsciente de la réalité.

Presque six ans de douleur et de peine incessante.

Et pourtant, soudainement, le monde éprouve du chagrin pour mon peuple, ma ville.

Je me demande alors si les choses ne deviennent outrageantes que lorsque vous les trouvez sur la première page du dernier magazine branché ?

J’aimerais vraiment croire en la chaleur de vos mot, vos réactions scandalisées mais j’ai vraiment du mal lorsque je ne vois jamais votre air outré à propos de l’autre côté de la ville.
Des tragédies se produisent partout.

Alors faites vous le choix de prendre partie pour un côté de la ville et contrer l’autre parce que vous n’êtes pas d’accord avec ceux qui le contrôlent ?

Ou alors soutenez vous une ville dans son entièreté, indépendamment de vos positions politiques ?

La raison pour laquelle je suis si écœurée vient du fait que de temps à autre on décide que tout d’un coup c’est à nouveau branché de parler de la Syrie. Mais, la souffrance de mon peuple n’est pas votre amuse bouche de la soirée.

Dima K. 

One thought on “Where were you? – Où étiez vous ?

Leave a Reply

